jump to navigation

Is it or isn’t it gluten free? Blue Cheese June 17, 2010

Posted by Melonie Gallegos in Is It or Isn't It?.
Tags:
trackback

Cheese is often my last resort for dressing up a dish after all the gluten filled fun has been stripped of it. Blue cheese in particular has been my friend on salads, on a burger, the replacement for gravy on my fancy steak…this is why I was sad to read recently that it was not gluten free. Here’s why, blue cheese is sometimes processed by growing mold on bread then adding it to the cheese which created a long fuss and debate over whether or not it was contaminated.

Today I have good news, a study has determined it is gluten free. The study found blue cheese processed in this way contains only minute traces of gluten (less than one part per million where the FDA definition of gluten free contains as much as 20 parts per million).

Win!

Advertisements

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: