jump to navigation

Dining Out Gluten Free: Sea World – Shipwrecked July 2, 2010

Posted by Melonie Gallegos in Dining Out.
Tags:
trackback

Sea World Shipwreck Cafe, San Diego
Theme park food

I’ll keep this one short and to the point, pack a lunch. I say this mostly out of concerns for your tastebuds it’s disgusting. Secondly for your tummy.

During a recent visit I had “the talk” with a Shipwreck Cafe employee and to my surprise he produced an allergy list menu thingy. I suspected there wasn’t much I could have and found the BBQ ribs on the safe list score! The tattered paper he’d handed wasn’t very specific, a table with an x in the box next to each menu item for dairy free, gluten free etc. The fries weren’t listed at all so I substituted them with the grilled veggies which were.

A few minutes into my meal my stomach started up and it took a good 48 hours to get back to normal. I won’t go into details but on top of it the meal was barely edible. Nice try Sea World. You’ll have to take a closer look at your seasonings, broth and BBQ sauce my natural gluten meter says no way.

By the way Sea World does allow food into the park. Most menu items in their restaurants contain wheat, even the grilled salmon. And many of the other menu items the claim to be on the safe list are full of dairy or sugar.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

