jump to navigation

Dining Out Gluten Free: Denny’s (Yes! Denny’s) February 18, 2011

Posted by Melonie Gallegos in Dining Out.
Tags: ,
trackback

Denny’s, San Diego Harbor with National locations
American
Gluten free menu: no menu, yes allergens list
Gluten friendly staff: yes

 

I was pleasantly surprised to find an allergens information list for Denny’s menu items when I stopped in for breakfast. Despite the fact that much of the menu is essentially prepackaged frozen food, they get mad props for giving their staff the resources they need to know what ingredients are in each dish. An often overlooked requirement for chef’s and servers.

The way Denny’s managed my gluten free and lactose free needs was five star. And, I let the manager know. As a rule, I try to provide as much good feedback to restaurants about their allergy request service as I do constructive. It’s a nice experience when a restaurant educates their staff and they are attentive to ensuring your meal will not get you sick. When this is a smooth experience your conversation doesn’t end up revolving around ‘the talk’ which ultimately becomes the conversation over your meal with the people your dining with. Are you tired of talking about your food allergies over the table? I am. I am desperate for normalcy.

One piece of education I want everyone to leave with is that a nutrition fact sheet is not the same as an allergens information list. Every restaurant as of 2011 is required to make nutrition facts available to you, whether within the menu itself or another document. I’ve seen it both ways. I’ve also been offered this nutrition facts by many servers in place of a gluten free menu or allergens information. There are no allergy facts in a nutrition fact sheet – it’s purpose is to count calories, fat etc.. We’ve got to take our health in our own hands and be advocates for education where restaurants are falling short.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And BTW, my go-to gluten free, lactose free breakfast item is…the potato and egg Sizzlin’ Skillet. Potatoes are gluten free but stay away from the hash browns they are not. It comes to the table literally sizzling. I was so excited the first time I had the skillet I burnt a hole in the roof of my mouth with the firs bite!

 

Comments»

1. Valeria - March 11, 2013

Awesome issues here. I’m very happy to peer your article. Thank you so much and I’m taking a look ahead to touch
you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?


Leave a Reply

